The Compendium of Wheel of Time Characters

By Karl Hammond

Thanks to everyone who waited patiently while this site was down. It should be back up to stay now, but you never know with these types of things.
List order
View list with initial descriptions
final descriptions

James Rigney, alias Robert Jordan, died Sunday, September 16, 2007, at 2:45 pm eastern daylight time. His passing is mourned by all who read his books and love the characters created by his imagination. The world of literature has lost one of its best, and one who I am proud to have known, even if it was only through his work.

As you may have guessed, I am a fan of the series of books called The Wheel of Time written by Robert Jordan (a pseudonym for a certain James Rigney). While reading the series, I noted that the number of characters that appear in each book is extremely high, and that just about every character that is given a name says or does something that is of significance later in the series. It is for this reason that I decided to make a list of every named character (yes, every named character) that appears in each book, where he first appears, and what that person does or did that identified him when he appeared in the book (for some characters, they have done quite a bit by the time they are mentioned in, say, Winter's Heart). Note: the information contained herein is intended to be information known at the time the character was mentioned for the first time in each book with no “spoilers.”

This site has been revised recently to include a complete list of every character in the series, which may someday become searchable. You have the option of listing characters with their initial descriptions (spoiler-free, as you see the first time they ever appear) or their descriptions as of the last time they appear. I hope you enjoy it!

If you have any comments about my site or any mistakes that I have made (misspellings, omissions, bad color contrast, anything), please let me know. Please note that the page numbers listed may correspond to different editions or printings of the books than you are using; the order and chapter numbers should still be correct, however.

There are 2782 distinct named characters in the series. Enjoy!

Long Ago, “The Strike at Shayol Ghul

In the Beginning, New Spring (173 Characters)

Book One, The Eye of the World (258 Characters)

Book Two, The Great Hunt (256 Characters)

Book Three, The Dragon Reborn (235 Characters)

Book Four, The Shadow Rising (435 Characters)

Book Five, The Fires of Heaven (402 Characters)

Book Six, Lord of Chaos (602 Characters)

Book Seven, A Crown of Swords (466 Characters)

Book Eight, The Path of Daggers (460 Characters)

Book Nine, Winter's Heart (444 Characters)

Book Ten, Crossroads of Twilight (522 Characters)

Book Eleven, Knife of Dreams (685 Characters)

Book Twelve, The Gathering Storm (454 Characters)

Book Thirteen, Towers of Midnight (615 Characters)

Book Fourteen, A Memory of Light (466 Characters)

Valid HTML 4.01 Strict Valid CSS!

Site last updated Mon Dec 31 23:15:37 2018 by Karl D. Hammond.